Google Adsense: CTR, CPC, CPM, RPM, Page Views and Impression
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Google Adsense: CTR, CPC, CPM, RPM, Page Views and Impression

Google Adsense: CTR, CPC, CPM, RPM, Page Views and Impression

Google Adsense: CTR, CPC, CPM, RPM, Page Views and Impression


Google Adsense is a program that can make money for its Publisher based on clicks and impressions.

  • What is CPC CPM CTR?
  • What is impression CTR in AdSense?
  • How do you calculate CPC from CPM and CTR?
  • What is Page rpm and impression RPM?

In this discussion, I will explain some terms from Google Adsense such as Clickthrough Rate (CTR), Cost-per-Click (CPC), Cost-per-Thousand (CPM), and Revenue-per-Impressions (RPM). Before we know the term, we must know some of these terms.

Clicks: Number of ads clicked.


Impression: The purpose of Impression is the number of items that have been viewed by website/blog visitors. Can be pages viewed, ad units viewed, etc. Therefore, Impression can be interpreted into three types, namely, Page Views, Page Impression, and Ad Impression.

Page View: Page View is reported every time a visitor sees a page with an ad. Only one page is counted each time an ad is viewed. For example, if a page has 3 ad units and is visited twice, then page view is counted twice.

Page Impression: Page Impression can be generated when visitors see the page that has ads in it. A single page can have more than one ad. Ad Unit Impression is calculated differently.

Note: In Google Adsense, the difference between Page View and Page Impression is almost the same.

Ad Impression: Ad Impression can be made when one of the ads has been viewed on your Website. For example, if a page has 3 ad units and if the page is viewed 5 times, then you get 5 Page Impression and 15 Ad Unit Impression. The calculation of 15 Ad Unit Impression can be done by multiplying the number of Page Impression by the number of ad units, (5 x 3 = 15).

Query: A query is a request made each time to display an ad unit.

Now, let's talk about CTR, CPC, CPM, and RPM.

Clickthrough Rate (CTR)


Clickthrough Rate (CTR) is the number of ads in a click divided by the number of Impressions, Page View, or Query received. CTR determines how often visitors click on your ad.

CTR= (Click divided Number of Impressions, View, or Query) at 100% times

Let's say there are 5 ads that are clicked on and the page is viewed 500 times.

Here's how to calculate it:

CTR = (Number of clicks divided Number of pages viewed) multiplied by 100%
CTR = (5 / 500) x 100%
CTR = 1%
It should be noted that the clicks are shared Page Impression, Page View, or Query.

Therefore, CTR can be classified into three types, namely: Ad CTR, Page CTR, and Query CTR.

Ad CTR - (Number of clicks divided by number of Impressions) multiplied by 100%
Page CTR - (Number of clicks divided by number of Page Views) multiplied by 100%
CTR Query - (Number of clicks divided by number of Queries) multiplied by 100%

Cost-per-Click (CPC)


Cost-per-Click (CPC) is the amount of revenue you earn each time a visitor clicks on an ad. In other words, CPC is the fee paid by Google to its Publisher every time a Google ad placed in its Website has been clicked on by a visitor. CPC fees on ads are determined by the ad owner. CPC is a specific Keyword. Different Keyword then different CPC value.

Google Adword is a Tool that we can use to search for valuable Keywords.

Cost-per-Thousand (CPM)


CPM stands for Cost-per-Thousand Impressions (M = Roman Numeral 1000).

Advertisers run CPM ads and set the cost of the ads shown per 1000 clicks and can pay each time their ad is shown.

As a Publisher, you can earn money when CPM is displayed on the page and viewed by visitors.

Revenue-per-Thousand Impressions (RPM) / Effective CPM (eCPM)

Note: Previously it could be referred to as eCPM. Now, it's called RPM.

RPM is a report feature and does not display the actual amount of generating paid to Publisher. RPM on a page (or an ad unit) is the estimated revenue of each receiving 1000 Impressions.

Example: If a Publisher earns $50 from a 2500 Page Impression, then:

RPM - (Estimated revenue divided by Page Impressions) multiplied by 1000
RPM - (50 : 2500) x 1000
RPM - 20 dollars

It should be noted that estimated earnings are divided by Page Impression, Page View, or Query.

Therefore, RPM can be classified into three types: Ad RPM, Page RPM, and Query RPM.

Ad RPM - (Estimated revenue divided by Ad Impressions) multiplied by 1000
Page RPM - (Estimated earnings divided by Number of Page Views) multiplied by 1000
Query RPM - (Estimated earnings divided by number of Queries) and multiplied by 1000

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